Aotearoa

Looking down on Orton Bradley Park

As my New Zealand holiday draws to a close, I have once again enjoyed the opportunity to touch base with family and friends, soak up the fresh air and slip into the slower pace of life (not that Brisbane is that full on!). I am constantly reminded every trip, what an amazing country I come from and the more adventurous I get, the more I want to see and do in the great outdoors.

My goal over the holiday period was to maintain my fitness and be ready to go when I pick it up in the New Year. Even though I might have over indulged once or twice (NZ beer is very good!), I have managed to get some great trail runs in, including in the Port Hills of Christchurch, Waikawa Bay in the Queen Charlotte Sounds and on the hills of Banks Peninsula. I am pretty happy at where I’m at and will be ready to lift it a notch on my return to Brisbane.

The last week we have been staying at a batch in Diamond Harbour, located on beautiful Banks Peninsula, nestled on the shores of Lyttelton Harbour. With a mixture of boating, running, reading, quality family time, and spectacular views, there were no complaints from this end (except Tanya not being there ).

Views from Mt Herbert

Having attacked a view of the local trails, I decided yesterday to up the anty and go out for a decent run. Mt Herbert, the highest point on Banks Peninsula at 920 metres above sea level, seemed the logical choice.  After 1½ hours of running/walking up through private farmland, I was greeted with 360 degree views of the hillsides and bays of Banks Peninsula, the sprawling Canterbury Plains and rugged Southern Alps in the distant. Not a bad reward for a fairly tough climb and still feeling good, decided to tack on some extra ks to my planned route.

Sign of the Packhorse - Hut

From the Mt Herbert Shelter, I sidled my around the south face of Mt Bradley, fighting my way through some thick gorse (a lovely prickly weed introduced by the English), dropped down into Kaituna Valley and stopped at the Packhorse Hut for food and drink. The last leg took me back around the north face of Mt Bradley and down into Orton Bradley Park (a private farm that offers camping, walking trails and picnic spots, a favourite destination for locals and travelers alike), tack on a few ks back to Diamond Harbour and clocked off around the 4 hour mark. Felt good and thoroughly enjoyed being out on the trails.

Great to get that under my belt and will now start focusing on my first big goal of the year, the Six Foot Marathon on March 13th.

One Response

  1. What a great stop to have a meal during hiking. Such amazing views.

Leave a Reply

