2009 – Dreams and Aspirations

img_2566-21After being very slack for the past few months, I have decided to kick off my blog again, this time from Brisbane, Australia. It is a long way from the Nth Shore Mountains of Vancouver, which it is hard to compete with, but as I am finding out there are plenty of scenic and challenging (as I have already found out the hard way) trails to keep me out of trouble. 

Settling back after an extended time away always poses its challenges, but both Tanya and I are keeping pretty positive and confident it will all come together. I am still on the lookout for work and really hoping that I can secure a permanent position, as I am craving the routine and security that comes with it.

In regards to my running, after a great year in Canada I am pretty pumped about another big year, especially out on the trails. I already have one race under my belt, which will be my next posting, and have plenty more on the calendar to keep me motivated and training hard. I have managed to keep up a bit of running over the summer period and pretty happy at the fitness base I have heading into the year.

I thought it was about time I sat down and mapped out my year, always helps to have a bit of direction and know what is in store. I am planning to take part in most of the trail runs I can in the SE Brisbane area and also some further afield, good excuse to get away for the weekend. So here is my wish-list for 2009:

Mt Glorious – Sun 1 Feb – 32km mountain trail run
Wild Horse at Night – Sat 28 Mar – 30km
Washpool National Park(NSW) – Sat 4 Apr – 42.5km
Pinnacles – Sat 18 Apr – 18km/18hills
Glasshouse Mts Cooks Tour – Sun 17 May – 50k
Mini-Kokoda – Sun 14 Jun – 27k
Lake Manchester – Sun 21 Jun – 33k
Kokoda Challenge – 18/19 Jul – 96k
Flight Centre Epic Mountain Bike – 22/23 Aug – 100k
Glasshouse Mountains Trail Runs– 12-13 Sep – 100k

Lamington National Classic – 24/25 Oct – 22k x 2

I am also contemplating running in a couple of marathons as well, maybe on the Gold Coast in early July, will see what happens. I am looking forward to a big year and working on other aspects of my running, such as nutrition, core strength/stability and flexibility.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. You guys just make me go wow – I hope that one day I can achieve something like this. Well done and congratulations

Leave a Reply

