Fond Farewell to Canada

trail1

After nearly 13 months in Canada, our time is drawing to an end. Both Tanya and I feel lucky and privileged to have had the opportunity to live here and it is an experience that we will treasure for many years to come. We are looking forward to seeing family and friends and of course not complaining about enduring another summer!

Like anything you do in life, there has been challenges along the way and times of self doubt (especially career wise), but those have well and truly been overshadowed by the people we have meet and places we have seen along the way. Along with our time in Vancouver, we have been lucky enough to travel in both Canada and the US, go to festivals and catch up with long lost friends, making for an amazing experience.

img_4856Of course for me, trail running was my highlight.  It all started with my entry into the Knee Knacker and what a journey it turned out to be. To be surrounded by such inspiring and motivated runners, along with the amazing scenery, fueled a passion for running that I have never had before. My desire now to hit the trails and set new goals for 2009 is well and truly alive and I have a new self belief in what I can achieve. I learnt so much from the people I ran with and have always been blown away by how humble everyone has been. I was always made to feel welcome and had some great conversations out on the trails.

So on that note, I would like to thank my new found Canadian friends (some newer Canadians than others), Ellie, John A, Mike, Terry Sukhi, Susan, John N, Bill and everyone else I meet along the way. It has been a blast and I look forward to keeping a close tab on everyones progress throughout 2009 and beyond.

I would also like to make mention of a good mate and training partner, Pricey, who I watched work so hard and achieve things that for alot of people would seem impossible. I look forward to watching your progress and have no doubt you are going to succeed in what ever you decide to pursue.

Leave a Reply

