Happy Days of Summer

  I woke on Sunday morning to one of those days that you just can’t help but have that extra spring in your step. After two weeks of unseasonal cold and wet weather, the sun was out in force and hardly a cloud in the sky. It’s days like this that Vancouver lives up to its reputation of being one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

This week’s knee knacker training run went from the Cypress Top lookout to Deep Cove, about a 33km point to point run. After a challenging out and back run to Old Buck last weekend, this weekend’s run didn’t seem so daunting. The trail was in good condition and the tempertaure perfect for running.

One of the highlights of getting involved in the trail running scene in Vancouver has been the amazing people I have meet. You can’t help but be motivated and inspired in this sort of environment. So today being no exception, I ran with a group of very competent runners, all with their own stories. Just to keep up was a victory in itself!

I thoroughly enjoyed the run, especially the downhill stretches where I just can’t help myself. I feel sorry for the people out for a nice Sunday morning stroll being scared out of their wits by this rampaging Kiwi coming pounding up behind them on the trail. We finished off with a soak in Arctic cold waters (well cold compared to back in Queensland) and a coffee and berry bun at a favourite jaunt of trail runners in Deep Cove.

I came away from the run still happy at how I am progressing and feeling confident heading towards July 12th. I don’t think I have ever been so excited about a race.

Leave a Reply

